A new book for me to play with

Hello readers! Today I am extremely excited about the publication of The Nature and Function of Water, Baths, Bathing and Hygiene from Antiquity through the Renaissance, a volume edited by Cynthia Kosso and Anne Scott. As those who have been reading this blog can imagine, this is extremely exciting news for me. The last time there was a big conference about water studies, I was still an undergraduate, and this is effectively the fruit of this conference.

I’ve just finished reading a review of the chapters in the book of interest to we medievalists by Paulo Squatriti, who is really full bottle on water in the Middle Ages, and one of my favorite writers on the topic of water in general. What is more exciting for me is that A) there are about half a dozen chapters here that have theory in them that is directly applicable to my thesis and B) none of them are too close to my research, so phew. It is always a constant source of paranoia for any PhD student that somebody will appear from the darkness and write on exactly the same topic as you (one of my friends recently had a very annoying experience with this). Hopefully they decide to get together and have a conference that I can invite myself to.

The down side? The book is worth $240 US….yowch. Time to heckle the university library to cough up. Luckily it is a huge and influential textbook, so I should be able to get it in.

This promises to give me enough theory to propel me through a large amount of my thesis and place me firmly within a disciplinary environment that I was hoping would emerge around me as I wrote. Take care all!

James.

Leave a Reply

